My Story

Hello viewers,

We were assigned a new project in language arts called: My Story. You have to write a story of one of your experiences or a story that you were told. This is mine.

All of this information came from my grandfather. Thank you, Grandfather!

As a young boy, he lived in Alexandria, Virginia. He has 2 sisters and a brother. He was the second oldest in his family. He had an older sister, Bev, who was about ten years older than him. He had a younger sister, Sue and a younger brother, Craig. 

 My grandfather played baseball as a young boy when he was between 10 and 14 years old. He played on a Little League team during the summer. Also, he played for one year in high school. He didn’t play on the JV team because he didn’t make the team.  

 Batting helmets were first used in Major League Baseball in 1941 by the Brooklyn Dodgers. Two of the players on their team, Joe Medwick and Pee Wee Reese had suffered head injuries, so the General Manager of the Dodgers, Larry MacPhail made the whole team wear them.

 In the one year that my grandfather was playing baseball in high school, he was trying to steal second base and the pitcher threw the ball to the first baseman and it hit him on the way. People came out to see if my grandfather was okay. Afterwards, he went to sit on the bench. 

Then, when his older sister, Bev (who was a nurse) came, she thought that my grandfather should go to the hospital. Then, the doctors at the hospital kept him overnight because they thought he had a concussion. My grandfather wasn’t to do any rigorous sports for a week or two. After those one or two weeks, my grandfather went back to doing regular activities and that was it!

 

Leave a Reply